PN-G Indians Football

PNG’s Johnson repeats as 22-5A MVP

PNG’s Johnson repeats as 22-5A MVP; Memorial’s Hines, Valsin earn superlatives
By I.C. Murrell |

Published 2:01 pm Monday, December 18, 2017

After combining for 63 touchdowns and more than 4,500 yards of offense, Roschon Johnson had built himself a second District 22-5A most valuable player campaign.

Port Neches-Groves’ junior quarterback officially defended his MVP accolade as the all-district selections were released Monday. Johnson completed 191 of 281 passes for 2,920 yards and 35 touchdowns, and rushed 220 times for 1,607 yards and 28 touchdowns in leading the Indians to a 10-2 record, a share of the 22-5A championship with Port Arthur Memorial and the 5A Division II Region III semifinal round.

Memorial swept the offensive and defensive MVP awards. Senior Elijah Hines unofficially ran for 1,401 yards and 23 touchdowns, scoring six of them in the 5A Division I playoffs, where he led the Titans to the Region III semis for the second year in a row.

Linebacker Jomard Valsin was named the district MVP, and sophomore teammate Keoni Evans took the defensive newcomer of the year award.

Monte Barrow capped off his first season as Nederland’s head coach with the coach of the year award. Barrow led the Bulldogs to an 8-3 mark and 5A Division I area round appearance, a four-win improvement from last season.

Baytown Lee sophomore Ijenea Wooley was named offensive newcomer of the year.

First-team offensive players:

Quarterbacks: Keitha Jones, Memorial;

Running backs: Devon Simmons, Nederland; Josh Ward, Lumberton;

Wide receivers: Preston Riggs and Preston Hughes, PNG; James Francis, Memorial; Kevon Latulas, Nederland;

Tight end: Holden Lane, PNG;

Fullback: Nicholas Kingston, Nederland;

Utility: Christian Mitchell, Livingston;

Offensive line: Brian Roy, Memorial; Josh Hranicky, PNG; Kevin Miranda and Matthew Buss, Nederland; C.J. Knighton, Livingston; and

Kicker: Landon Sandell, PNG.

First-team defensive players:

Defensive line: Braydon Williams and Dajuan McMillan, Memorial; Tiren Forney, Nederland; and Jakevion Wilson, Ozen;

Inside linebackers: Chris Thomas, Memorial; Robert Thibodeaux, Beaumont Central; Joey Ciccio, Vidor;

Outside linebackers: Steven Hendrix, Nederland; Austin Bost, PNG; John Ruffin, Central; Kaelin Redmon, Ozen;

Cornerbacks: Greg Laday, Memorial; Nathan Powell; Central;

Safeties: Javontae’ Hopkins, Memorial; Noah Lewis, Nederland; Bran’Darius Howard, Central;

Punter: Omar Hernandez, Lee; and

Return specialist: Francis, Memorial.

Second-team offensive players:

Quarterback: Blaysin Fernandez, Nederland;

Running backs: Theodrick Foster, Central; Ja’Marion Eaglin, Ozen;

Wide receivers; Matthew Phoenix, Central; Cameron Stansbury, PNG; Zachary Vaughn, Ozen; Montrel Motten, Lee;

Tight end: Norman Petry, Ozen;

Fullbacks: Andrew Hebert, PNG; Austin Citizen, Ozen;

Utilities: Dailon Gans, Central; Christian Mitchell, Livingston;

Offensive line: Nakoven Lewis, Memorial; Josh Nichols, PNG; Caleb Sterling, Central; Devin Nixon, Vidor; and

Kicker: Kenny Pham, Memorial.

Second-team defensive players:

Defensive line: Layne Mobley and Logan Hammonds, PNG; Lorne Hamilton, Central; Tony Ciccio, Vidor;

Inside linebackers: Ja’Quaylen Crook, Memorial; Brady Spell, Nederland; Will Broussard, Livingston;

Outside linebackers: Lazarus May, Memorial; Desean Batiste, Central

Cornerbacks: Landon Hiltz, Nederland; Bridger Quirante, Vidor;

Safeties: Motten, Lee; Noah Emfinger, Vidor;

Flex: Taylor Kersh, Lumberton; and

Punter: Vidal Valle, Central.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: